12th Day in Progress

Posted: December 2, 2010 in Internet Marketing
Tags:

Goals are a milestone, not a destination

12-2-10 Thursday

I am getting less and less interested in my “jobs” as my business partner and I dive into the world of network and affiliate marketing. Kim, my business partner, also seems to be losing some interest in his job at times, but he has been going to some classes sponsored through his work that he actually enjoys. My main focus is writing my blog although it is the least time consuming. I have been researching other Network and Affiliate Marketers quite a bit lately and am finding some very useful information. I opened a Twitter account and will be opening up some other social network accounts as well as this seems, and I agree, imperative. I listened to a conference call on Wednesday night from Sparkplugging, a site dedicated to network and affiliate marketing ,and took a few notes. I believe more in blogging after that call then I did prior and found the call to be informative as to where and how to get your blog going on the internet. I have subscribed to many newsletters pertaining to this business my partner and I are venturing into. I read them daily and find a lot of very good information and a lot of B.S. information. I also started reading another eBook on where to find content, how to use content, how to edit content and how to get free and/or inexpensive content that can be used in a multitude of ways. I bought another magazine about home-based businesses. I buy these magazines not because I feel, at this time anyway, they actually help out a whole bunch. I buy them because I like something easy and simple to read so I’m not on the computer all the time and it still pertains to the business in which Kim and I are getting involved. My partner has been working on a business plan and sent me a rough draft tonight. This business plan goes over our business name, vision, mission, objective, strategies and our action plan. I refined the business plan a little bit and sent it back to Kim and am awaiting his response. I do feel like the business plan that WE ultimately finish will help us become a better team overall. Kim and I also discussed blogging and website creation and I’m hoping we will dive into this in more detail soon. We have put on hold our first idea of a City America website as we have both decided that will take more time and effort. We are looking to start something less involved that generates an income stream that will be our source of funds down the road for City America. I am going to bring up to my partner my thoughts on starting a business savings/checking account and a better defined budget. Admittedly, some of this is a bit frustrating because I want to get going more deeply in this business, and it seems like money is the biggest setback at this time. I also know that this might indirectly help us because it gives us more time to do our research and build a better foundation. I believe knowledge and continuing to gain that knowledge will be the best thing we can do to make this a prosperous business. I also know we will, and am coming to terms with it, never know everything, but trying to know everything is what we NEED to do and what we WILL do.

Leave a comment